Member Type Regional Intergovernmental Organization or Regional Sea

Coordinating Body on the Seas of East Asia (COBSEA)



Jerker Tamelander
COBSEA Secretariat

Krittika Kleesuwan

Background Information

The Coordinating Body on the Seas of East Asia (COBSEA) was established in 1981 as the policy coordination and decision-making inter-governmental body for the Action Plan for the Protection and Development of the Marine Environment and Coastal Areas of the East Asian Seas Region (the East Asian Seas Action Plan) that was approved in 1981 and revised in 1994, stimulated by concerns on the effects and sources of marine pollution in the region.

COBSEA focuses on marine- and land-based pollution, coastal and marine habitat conservation, and management and response to coastal disasters through information management, national capacity building, addressing strategic and emerging issues and regional cooperation. Currently COBSEA consists of 9 member States – Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, People’s Republic of China, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam, and its activities are overseen by the COBSEA Secretariat. COBSEA is one of UNEP-administered Regional Seas Programme.

Last Updated: 7 May 2020