Monitoring

Meetings Other Relevant Events

South Africa’s coral reef custodians try their hand at user-based monitoring for reef resilience

Wednesday , January 22, 2014
Register Now
Details

Contact
resilience@tnc.org
resilience@tnc.org

Jennifer Olbers and Vasha Chetty discuss the challenges and advantages of using dive operators and members of the diving community to assess reefs and to act as an early warning system to bleaching and other stressors on coral reefs in northern KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. They will give an overview of the area, the existing legislation and the challenges faced by conservation managers. They will also share specific lessons learned for working with different stakeholders and mechanisms for creating an ‘open door’ policy between the dive community, scientists and the conservation authority. Both speakers are from Ezemvelo KwaZulu-Natalin Wildlife, the agency mandated to protect and conserve the biodiversity of coral reefs in South Africa. Register here!

Date: January 22, 2014
Time: 6:00 PM South Africa Standard Time (SAST), 12:00 PM Atlantic Standard Time (AST), 4:00 PM Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

You can check your local start time against the time listed above using a world clock time zone converter, like this one.

If you already have questions in mind you would like the panelists to address, please email them ahead of time to resilience@tnc.org. If you are unable to participate in the live webinar, the recording will be available here, a few days after the event.